Facebook ‘Manage Activity’ Is a Long Overdue Privacy Feature

Throughout its 16 years of existence, Facebook has struggled to provide the privacy controls users really want and need to safeguard the data they post to the platform. It’s been a challenging project, with plenty of major detours along the way. But today Facebook is announcing a new tool for managing your posts. It may be the most intuitive version of the controls yet, because it’s basically what Gmail has offered for email since the year Facebook launched.

The new feature, known as Manage Activity will create the concept of an “archive” on Facebook, allowing you to move any or all of your past posts to a secret new home that only you can see. Manage Activity will also introduce a Facebook Trash folder so you can delete posts more easily. The new feature is rolling out in Facebook’s mobile apps first.

“Whether you’re entering the job market after college or moving on from an old relationship, we know things change in people’s lives, and we want to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook,” the company says in a blog post.

Check Out Your URL
my explanation
helpful site
More Info
go right here
this article
visit their website
check out here
he said
official source
Look At This
see page
find out here
look these up
Find Out More
go now
that site
image source
useful content
sites
view it
Full Article
click over here now
visit this web-site
see
Our site
read the article
next page
look at this now
find out
Read Full Report
see here now
visit here
click here to find out more
why not check here
her response
published here
check
discover this
from this source
basics
read what he said
visit the site
browse around this web-site
visit this site
link
click for source
click this link now
blog
why not look here
more information
look at these guys
site link
helpful hints
pop over to this web-site
go to my site
see this page
browse around this website
view website
my sources
webpage
Discover More Here
Learn More Here
company website
click for info
Read Full Article
his response
click over here
take a look at the site here
more tips here
helpful resources
check out this site
look at this website
have a peek at this site
the original source
Continue
visit our website
visit this website
go to this website
pop over here

Screenshot: Facebook

Archive and Trash are two concepts most people are familiar with from email. As with Gmail, posts you move to the trash will stay there for 30 days and then be deleted unless you manually eliminate them sooner or reinstate them. And Manage Activity is introducing batch actions for multiple posts at once so you can view and organize in bulk, rather than going post by post. You can filter by date ranges, types of posts (Photos and Videos, Posts From Other Apps, etc.), specific people, and other categories, and then select individual posts, batch-archive, or batch-delete as needed.

If you archive or delete a post that people are tagged in they’ll lose access to the post. Facebook says they won’t be notified of the change, though, so you can archive stealthily. You can’t archive other people’s posts that you are tagged in—this is only for content you’ve shared.

Facebook already offers a Select Privacy menu for each of your posts where you can choose who can view the content; your options include Public, Friends, Specific friends, and so on. In some ways, archiving a post will be similar to choosing Only Me, in the sense that only you will be able to view the post and no one else. But if you’ve been using Only Me as a makeshift archiving feature, Manage Activity isn’t going to help put everything in one place. All archived posts will show up in one place, but Facebook says there isn’t a way to view the collection of posts you’ve marked Only Me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post The Pandemic Is Transforming the Rental Economy
Next post Women Have Always Worked From Home